The Seventh Age


….Last scene of all
That ends this strange eventful history
Is second childishness and mere oblivion
Sans teeth, sans eyes, sans taste…

But those eyebrows aren’t going anywhere!

4 Responses to “The Seventh Age”

  1. Il Tenore di Coloratura Superba Says:

    October 12 is Luciano’s Birthday. How old is he this year? Is he 70 this year? Coincidentally, it is also my birthday and I believe Vaughn-Williams shares the date with us.

  2. La Cieca, that is a genuinely mean use of Shakespeare. And Pavarotti as “Trog” is a meaningful use of demented simile.

  3. Il Tenore di Grazia Says:

    ITDCS, October 12 is also the first landing in America by Columbus. A few years before you were born, of course.

    Wonder what would have been an appropriate musical number or aria for the occasion.

  4. Il Tenore di Coloratura Superba Says:

    Yes ITDG. My b-day is Columbus Day. It’s very odd, but throughout my life, there has been an uncanny association with things that are affiliated with the number 12 or with his name – even in college, my dorm room was my birthdate in reverse: 2101 and I lived on 12th Ave in Columbus, Oh. Go figure.
    I’m sure we could find an appropriate musical number in Mihaud’s opera Cristoph Colombe – which I have never heard but have always been interested to hear.

Leave a Reply

