The Carol Neblett Memorial Prize

Rolando Villazon says he’s willing to do nudity, but only if it’s called for in the story of the opera. Might La Cieca hope that such a plot-driven rationale be found to get budding hunkentenor Stephen Costello to strip off during OONY’s Guglielmo Tell this Sunday? Well, perhaps not. But (so La Cieca heard at the recent Liciathon) Costello sounds perfectly spectacular even when fully clothed, and surely, nudity or no nudity, will be a standout in the cameo role of the Fisherman. So La Cieca is willing to compromise: how about jeans and a ripped wifebeater? All right, with wading boots, that’s something a fisherman might wear. . .

UPDATE: He talks, too!

12 Responses to “The Carol Neblett Memorial Prize”

  1. OMG, this guy is new to me. What a lovely face. Reminds me of a certain tenor next to whom I stood in a Paris pissoir. I had heard him sin Romeo the night before. Lovely.

  2. Chalkenteros Says:

    what a fox

  3. Chalkenteros Says:

    sounds good too! Just listened to his boheme clip … nice rich voice

  4. rysanekfreak Says:

    I’ll swear that I’ve heard of “Frau ohne Schatten” productions when the vision of the young man is nude (voiced from offstage by the Emperor). That seems like a nice little role for a handsome young nude tenor to take on while at the beginning of his career. And imagine the furor he would then create at his act one curtain call.

  5. Il Tenore di Coloratura Superba Says:

    Hehe – Stephen is a good guy – I met him briefly one day – after about staring and drooling off to the side for a good hour before my friend introduced me to him. He is a very good tenor and one of the better ones that I’ve heard who is currently at AVA. I do question whether the Duke is suitable for him and I think he’ll be singing it in their upcoming production. The Duke is a role I personally dream of singing one day…however I’m sticking with Rossini and Mozart as long as I can (mainly because I enjoy them and do them extremely well) and despite the fact that many have told me that they hear the fuller lyric rep in my future, and tho I do feel it for the future as well…I think I’ll take after dear Luciano who waited until after he was 40 to sing that role. I think it is advisable to most lyric tenors to stay away from that role until they have really seasoned their instruments – it can be very damaging. Stephen is a great talent though and I wish him all the best in the world.

  6. heldensoubrette Says:

    il tenore di coloratura superba, can you please tell me about your experience with stephen? we tenors are usually short but with a lot of high notes, of course. this makes me cuious about his height too!

    grazie mille!

  7. Il Tenore di Coloratura Superba Says:

    Well, my encounters with Stephen have been very brief as we are both busy men. He is, if I remember correctly rather tall – I daresay he might be taller than me, and I’m 6’1″. A very sweet woman who works at AVA saw us standing together, came over and said “What are you two competing for best looking tenor or something?” If you think he looks good in his pictures, I can only tell you that it is so much better to see him in person – very much like when I saw Brad Pitt walking through the streets of Montauk several summers ago – so much hotter in person!!
    Stephen is a ladies man from what my friends at AVA tell me and always manages to have a girl (usually blonde) attached to his arm. I certainly don’t hold it against him or them!

  8. il tenore di grazia Says:

    heldensoubrette, before you drool too much, remember that height is not always matched by other body parts such as fingers, toes, etc.

  9. Il Tenore di Coloratura Superba Says:

    ITDG – so good to hear from you! How have you been!?

  10. il tenore di grazia Says:

    ITDCS, I’ve been in Europe for the last 3 weeks, but before you ask, no, I heard not a single note of operatic music.

    My closest operatic encounter was walking past the house where Alfredo Kraus was born in Las Palmas, Canary Islands. There’s a plaque outside identifying it as such. It’s an old house just a few steps from a house where Columbus stayed when passing on one of his trips.

    I also got to see the new Liceu in Barcelona, but there were no performances while I was there.

    Now, I’m catching up with all you Cieca’s children have been doing.

    How was your audition?

  11. Il Tenore di Coloratura Superba Says:

    Very nice ITDG – I’m looking foward to my trips to Europe come summer – I’ll mostly be in Italy doing some singing there – with a possible excursion to perform in Vienna – I haven’t decided if it will fit into my singing schedule in Italy just yet.

    My auditions have been going very well – there have been many and there are many more coming up very soon so it’s been quite a crazy two months for me. I am hopefully looking at performances of Gluck’s Orfee in Germany sometime next year – I don’t know when I’ll hear for sure – I got a very good response from the manager of that opera house after I sang for him the Act I aria. I personally love the 1774 French version of the opera much more than the original Italian version…and no, it’s not because Orphee is for tenor…I mean, I guess that’s part of it, but mainly Gluck really revamped alot of the scenes and added some truly superb music in the French version and my ears happen to like the key adjustments for Orpheus’ music.

    Your trip to Europe sounds as though you had a fairly good time!

    Now I must get to the piano to practice – I am doing a performance of Judas Maccabeus at the beginning of next month and I’ve been SO busy I haven’t had much time to devote to it as I would like. I am planning to do some wild variations and will interpolate a High D at the end of “Sound an alarm” – it just needs it!

  12. Il Tenore di Coloratura Superba Says:

    I would like to set the record straight for one particular thing I mentioned regarding Mr. Costello…I had accidentally elluded that he has a preference for blondes, which is not the case…I do apologize for the mistake.

Leave a Reply

