Condolences

We here at parterre.com would like to offer our condolences to Matthew Polenzani and his wife on their recent loss. Though we don’t know the Polenzanis personally, his singing has given us a lot of pleasure in recent years, and we sincerely hope that once his mourning is completed, he will return quickly to the stage. La Cieca welcomes readers of parterre.com to send their own messages of condolence through the comments section.

9 Responses to “Condolences”

  1. I guess I’m going to have to be the fool who asks: What happened?

  2. il lacerato spirito Says:

    and to whom in Polenzani’s family?

  3. Terry Ellsworth Says:

    On Christmas Eve, Matthew Polenzani and his wife, Rosa, lost their 16 month old daughter, Alessandra, suddenly. Their child was a dear, sweet angel and the Polenzanis were devoted parents.

    The funeral was held on December 30 in suburban New York. It was a beautiful but very sad occasion. Many of Matt’s colleagues from the MET were there and Susan Graham sang.

    Thank you to our host for giving people a forum to express their condolences and best wishes to the Polenzanis for their loss.

    It’s hard to imagine this kind of loss.

  4. bella figlia dell'amore Says:

    How inexpressibly terrible.

    Although I don’t know either of them, all my sorrow and support to the Polenzanis…I cannot imagine anything worse than this.

  5. il lacerato spirito Says:

    It is an extremely sad thing to lose so young a child, I lost a nephew at 3 months from crib death.

    All the opera world I am sure joins the others here in expressing their condolances

  6. Whatever solace sympathy, thoughts, and prayers from a stanger might possibly bring, all of mine go to the Polenzanis.

  7. celticpriestess Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about the Polenzanis’ little girl! I lost a brother when I was 12, and I know how my parents ached over that, so it must be awful for them, too. My sympathies and prayers go out to them.

  8. southern gal Says:

    words never will be able to express enough sympathy to comfort parents who lose a child.

    my prayers are with the Polenzanis during this tragic time.

    may the beauty and grace of music in time help heal their sorrow.

  9. I am remembering the words of that Welch lullaby:
    Sleep my child and peace attend thee, all through the night.
    Guardian angels God will send thee, all through the night.
    This was sung at the death of my son’s two year old daughter–my only grandchild.

Leave a Reply

