Comme des garçons

Metrosexual maestro Phillipe Jordan, currently gracing our Gotham at the helm of the Met’s Le nozze di Figaro, has been named for the next music director of the Opéra National de Paris, effective with the 2009-10 season. His appointment was announced Wednesday evening at a meeting of the company’s board of directors, according to PlaybillArts.

Maestro Jordan is not yet 33, which in conductor years is about 11.

The Paris Opera has been without a music director under the current Gérard Mortier administration since 2004, when James Conlon (now at Los Angeles Opera) departed the post. Since that time, Mortier has used a series of guest conductors, most notably (if that is indeed the correct word) Sylvain Cambreling.

PlaybillArts also spills the beans on an upcoming live webcast by William Christie and Les Arts Florissants of Stefano Landi‘s 1632 music-drama Il Sant’ Alessio, already one of the season’s hottest tickets for its Lincoln Center stand on October 29 and 30. The television channel France 3 will transmit the Thursday, October 18 performance of the work, live from the Théâtre de Caen. France 3 Normandy’s webcast begins at 19h45 Central European Time (1:45 pm US Eastern Time) with an introductory program (in French only). The performance itself begins at 20h00 Central European Time (2:00 pm US Eastern time ).

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: